R.I.P. 2010, Johnny5 and VJnetcast.com

My PowerMac G5 Dual 2.7GHz, also known as Johnny5, that I got back in 2005 suffered a coolant leak and has passed away. This has been a known issue with this model. Yesterday the Apple Genius at the Apple Store said that Apple considers the machine “Vintage” aka “Obsolete” and will not perform any repairs on it. They aren’t even able to open and handle the computer because it’s considered toxic. I asked if they could remove the coolant system or despose of the part and and they still refused.

The fumes from Johnny5’s shell has been setting off my carbon-monoxide detector. It’s a bit disturbing so I put Johnny5 in another place until I can send it off to be recycled. Luckily the data on the hard drive is fine. I plan on getting this docking station so I can still use it to store files.

R.I.P.
Johnny5
December 10, 2005 – December 30, 2010

Johnny5 loved making new friends, playing music, surfing the net, playing with pixels and podcasting. The PowerMac G5 is survived by it’s Apple Cinema 23″ HD Display, the original iSite, the 5th generation 60GB video iPod and the adorable iMac G4 (17-inch Flat Panel) and Johnny6 aka the 15-inch MacBook Pro 2.6GHz Intel Core 2 Duo processor.
—-
Another death and birth in the VJnetcast family is that of the VJnetcast.com and VJnet.org domane names. 2010 has been a year of financial struggle and the re-newing of site registation was not in the budget. Unfortunately we have lost the ownership of vjnetcast.com. The boys from TheOccasionalFag.com were kind enough to e-mail me a screenshot of how vjnetcast.com now “helps you get hard!” Check it out below. lol

If things aren’t hard enough and you like ’em easy, now you can visit me at the new VJnetcast.tk (because it cost money to have a .com) or use vjnet.wordpress.com if you like ’em long.

From these endings on the last day of the year 2010. May your 2011 be filled with new beginnings, joy and prosperity. Have a Happy New Year! BustB!G Live Dream!

xoxo,
VJnet

Comments are closed.

