My Firefox, My Foxy Style

I just updated my Firefox web browser to version 3.6. One new extension that I’m using is the Personas add-on. Firefox Personas is a new way to customize the look of your browser. It’s like placing a personalized skin on your Firefox without changing the theme (buttons and menus) that you already have installed.

Click out the VJnet inspired Amoeba Persona by gidgetorama.
Or copy and paste to wear it: http://www.getpersonas.com/en-US/persona/12806


To see how foxy my Firefox looks in Amoeba click HERE.

While in the Personas changing room I quickly tried on different Personas. I like and favorited the modern clean ones, a couple Mac/Apple Personas and the ones that appeared light with a splash of color. I’m not a fan of the dark Personas or the ones that make it too, hard to read your tabs and buttons. After changing outfit after outfit on my Firefox I found a Persona that caught my eye… It looked very familiar and reminded me of something I had made. In fact it was something I had made. The image used was from my “From Seat15” wallpaper design that I posted on my flickr. Needless to say, I was surprised and flattered. But it might of been nicer if gidgetorama, the person who designed the Amoeba Persona, gave me attribution for it according to the creative commons license or at least told me about it. Anyway, I guess it just means he or she really likes it.

“What’s the difference between a Firefox theme and Personas for Firefox?

Themes change the appearance of Firefox. A Persona is a special type of theme that changes the look of your browser without changing the navigation buttons, toolbars, and menus. Until now, to apply a theme you needed to install it and restart your browser, like with extensions and other add-ons.

Now, with Personas you can instantly preview a design and install it in one click without needing to restart. All original themes are still available through addons.mozilla.org. Click here to learn more about using Themes and Personas.”

Keep a look out for Firefox Personas by VJnet… Coming soon…

Get Personas: www.getpersonas.com
Get Firefox: www.mozilla.com/firefox

P.S. Speaking of cool add-ons for Firefox. Check out Cooliris by The Cooliris Team. It’s a super fast “3D wall” add-on to view photos and videos online and from your desktop.

Get Cooliris: www.cooliris.com

Comments are closed.

